Sobering.

Thank you, Melissa, for putting this together.

I have nothing to add.

Update: On a related note, yet more details have been revealed about the case of the 10-year-old Australian Aboriginal gang-rape victim whose 9 rapists went free. And I don’t think that I can take anymore. This story was already one of the worst that I’ve ever heard in my entire life. And every single time I find out more, it only gets drastically worse. Not slightly worse — much, much worse. Lauredhel has more about the contrasting reactions to the case by Aboriginal leaders and the Queensland Law Society. She has been doing an all-around great job covering this case and has been my source for a great deal of information about it, and I thank her for her dedication.

0 thoughts on “Sobering.

  1. Bonnie

    I feel like I’m going to throw up or cry.
    Probably both.

    Its a really really digusting state of things, when I need to induce a news/blog fast and just not read anything for the next few days, just in order to function in my one life without uncontrollable rage and depression that is caused by reading such items.

    Seriously. I want to know whats going on in the world. I want to know the ugly reality and to stay aware and vigilant, so I can keep trying to find ways to fight. Its just so constant.

    And I don’t feel like I even read/learn/do enough… all the time. I can’t imagine what it takes to be you and keeping on top of all this information all the time, to post and make us aware.

    Thank you. But also… I’m sorry that you have to do it. I will be back next week to catch up on posts when I have the stomach for it again.

    (goes to hide under covers).

    Reply
  2. kate.d.

    shakes really kills with those righteous anger posts. she is amazing.

    though i’ve learned i can’t read through all the examples – it’s too debilitating.

    Reply
  3. BettyBoondoggle

    “Seriously. I want to know whats going on in the world. ”

    This world is no different than it ever has been. The only difference is that now we hear about all of it.

    Reply
  4. Bonnie

    Betty-

    I know that the world continues to have vile things happen everyday. But I meant that I personally read blogs and indie news sources everyday to keep knowing, to keep aware and not get out of touch. So many people just don’t pay attention. Even if I know whats happening is horrible, I read to be better informed and not to be complacent.

    so its not that I’m shocked because something bad is happening. As a feminist, I know its not NEW. But I’m constantly shocked and outraged at how digusting it aLWAYS is. Every new story piles on this weight of awareness of it (which sometimes motivates me to go out and take more action when and where I can) and sometimes have to stop reading for a while and disengage because when it comes to the rape cases, I can’t walk around in my life feeling that level of outraged and depressed about it all the time. I need to take a break from it, recollect and then rally all my hopefulness for change together with what I can do about it. (which too often feels like an overwhelming nothing).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

