Blogathon Updates

So, you may have noticed that the blog has been a bit dead, lately. That’s because I’m busy preparing for the Blogathon, which I recently wrote about. I also started a new training course this week that I’m really excited about. Oh, and last week my husband became a U.S. citizen, and my cat was diagnosed with hyperthyroidism (she should be fine). And did I mention that a new Beatles Rock Band trailer was released and 15 new songs for the game announced? I’ve been busy!

So here’s just a quick update and reminder about the Blogathon on Saturday. So far, I’ve raised $238 in pledges for SAFER — which brings us almost halfway to my $500 goal!   But I’m going to need quite a few more sponsorships by the end of Saturday to reach that goal.  If you are able to make a pledge, whether it be big or small, please do so now!

I’ve also gone ahead and created that Blogathon sub-blog, which I will be using on Saturday.  I’ll be posting that link again here as the Blogathon begins, but I’m letting you know in advance in case any of you who prefer to read through blog readers want to grab the feed now.

And lastly, I’m still looking for things to blog about!  Again, if you’ve got links, stats, news stories, etc. about sexual violence, especially the kinds that we don’t usually spend much time talking about, I’d love to see them.  Because right now, I’ve received nothing, actually.  So if you’d like to help me out with the preparation, drop me an email or a comment!  And remember that I’m taking Beatles-related requests too for the nighttime half of the Blogathon, too!

0 thoughts on “Blogathon Updates

  1. Octopus

    Online Resources:

    Child abuse and mistreatment – The Alice Miller Official Website.

    For your own good: Hidden cruelty in child-rearing and the roots of violence – This book is available legally online – highly recommended.

    The Andrew Vachss Official Website – A lawyer and novelist who writes about all forms of child abuse (physical, sexual, human trafficking, abandonment, extreme negligence) as the root of violence … and the cost to individuals and society. Check out the “Zero” database for details.

    Reply
  2. Madeleine

    When it comes to topics and Beatles topics, I was thinking that you should blog about the movie Help! if you haven’t already done so before.

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Femmostroppo Reader – July 24, 2009 — Hoyden About Town

  4. sarah

    some thoughts for/on topics…

    something i personally have been thinking a lot about—that i would love to read some of your comments on—is dealing with assault incidents outside of the justice system. the struggle between holding perpetrators accountable, getting justice for survivors, and also resisting the racist, misogynist justice system/prison industrial complex is a big struggle for me. what are the alternatives? are there any at this point?

    this same conflict makes its way into my viewing of films that deal with sexual assault–these films usually seem to fall into the categories of “helpless victim” and “rape revenge.” neither of these sits well with me, the latter because they deal in a kind of vigilante justice that, no matter how much i understand and even quietly cheer on, i can’t celebrate…it’s sort of along the same lines as people who say rapists “deserve” to get raped in prison…

    what would non-court-based alternatives to justice look like for assault cases? what would you like to see a narrative film about sexual violence look like?

    Reply
    1. Cara Post author

      Oooh, those are both BIG questions, Sarah. I’m not sure that I’ll get the chance to write about either while I’m getting up a post every 30 minutes, but I will mull over both and try! 🙂

      And thanks to Jovan and Madeleine for the links.

      Reply
  5. Pingback: Blogathon Blogathon Blogathon! | Change Happens: The SAFER Blog

  6. human

    Sad news, E. Lynn Harris died today. Did you ever read any of his books? If so, maybe a review or commentary or appreciation of some sort would be in order.

    Congratulations to your husband, and best of luck with the Blogathon.

    Reply
  7. Pingback: 24: What Is Justice? : The Curvature

Leave a Reply

