The Night Before

So I didn’t disappear after 5am EST without notice because I’m an irresponsible person, or because I’m a person who who fell asleep at her desk.  Rather, I disappeared after 5am last night because I’m a person who uses Time Warner’s Road Runner internet service, which in the world’s cruelest irony went out in my area at 5:20.  I was in the middle of writing a post about “Oh Yoko!”

My husband tells me that it came back at about 10am EST.

I don’t know what to say about that except that I really, really wish that Road Runner had an actual competitor in the area.  It was extremely important to me to make it all the way through the Blogathon this year.  I was going to make it all the way through the Blogathon this year.  But.  Well . . .

In any case, the total pledges for SAFER have come to a whopping $601.59, which is $100 over goal, and almost $150 more than what I raised last year.  Of course, some of those pledges were hourly, so it’s up to those sponsors whether they end up donating the amount they would have if I’d been able to make it the full 24 hours, though obviously that would be very nice.  (For the record, I was able to complete 20 hours.)

No matter what, I’m awed, thrilled, and humbled by the generosity.  So thank you so much to the 26 of you who acted as sponsors.  And thank you to all of those who kept me company in the comments and on Twitter while I was still here.  That certainly helped a lot.

cross-posted from my Blogathon sub-blog

0 thoughts on “The Night Before

  1. frau sally benz

    I still think it’s amazing you wrote such substantial posts for 12 hours! I have absolutely no idea who you did it, but you’ve given me something to strive for. And your Beatles blogging kept me awake for hours, and I’ll be forever thankful.

    WOOHOOOOO CARA!

    Reply
  2. Alison

    Hi Cara,

    I’m trying to fulfil my pledge to SAFER but the links provided (in the email I just recieved from the Blogathon) do not seem to be working. I’m sorry! Perhaps I can instead mail a cheque to a certain address? (if you happen to have a mailing address for the charity. I cannot find one as the websites aren’t working for me).

    And while I have you, thanks for the work you do!

    All the best,
    Alison

    Reply
    1. Cara Post author

      Hey Alison,

      Coincidentally, I’m going to put up a post later reminding everyone to send in their pledges. In any case, the links in my email are working, so I’m not sure what’s happening there, but there is an address to mail checks to:

      Students Active For Ending Rape (SAFER)
      25 Washington Street, Suite 411
      Brooklyn, NY 11201

      The check should be made payable to Students Active For Ending Rape (SAFER). And as luck would have it, they prefer checks as they cost less in processing 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

