The Beatles: Rock Band Track List Reactions

beatles rb pepper4

In the past several weeks, and with a mere 24 days left until the release date, we’ve received a whole ton of information about The Beatles: Rock Band. We’ve seen a preview of story mode, and learned some more about the drums and vocal trainers. We’ve seen some extra graphics, which just keep getting better. We’ve received the awesome news that in addition to Abbey Road, Sgt Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band and Rubber Soul will be eventually available for full album download, with the implication of more to come. We’ve been floored with the reveal that the entire very rare The Beatles’ Christmas Album will be an unlockable bonus.

And we now know 44 of the 45 on disc songs. The list has been released through Game Informer magazine, and confirmed, though it’s still not posted on The Beatles: Rock Band official site.

If you don’t want to see it, I strongly suggest that you don’t go past the jump.

Please Please Me (1963)
I Saw Her Standing There
Boys
Do You Want To Know A Secret
Twist and Shout

With the Beatles (1963)
I Wanna Be Your Man

A Hard Day’s Night (1964)
A Hard Day’s Night
Can’t Buy Me Love

Beatles For Sale (1964)
Eight Days a Week

Help! (1965)
Ticket To Ride

Rubber Soul (1965)
Drive My Car
I’m Looking Through You
If I Needed Someone

Revolver (1966)
Taxman
Yellow Submarine
And Your Bird Can Sing

Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band (1967)
Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band/With a Little Help From My Friends
Lucy In The Sky With Diamonds
Getting Better
Good Morning Good Morning

Magical Mystery Tour (1967)
I Am The Walrus
Hello Goodbye

The Beatles (White Album) (1968)
Dear Prudence
Back In the U.S.S.R.
While My Guitar Gently Weeps
Birthday
Helter Skelter

Yellow Submarine (1969)
Hey Bulldog

Abbey Road (1969)
Come Together
Something
Octopus’s Garden
I Want You (She’s So Heavy)
Here Comes the Sun

Let It Be (1970)
Dig a Pony
I Me Mine
I’ve Got a Feeling
Get Back

Love (2006)
Within You Without You/ Tomorrow Never Knows

Singles
I Want To Hold Your Hand
I Feel Fine
Day Tripper
Paperback Writer
Revolution
Don’t Let Me Down

beatles-rb-birthday2

Now, my first reaction was to notice which tracks didn’t make the cut. There are certain songs that I really, really wanted, but am not hugely surprised about being omitted. Like Strawberry Fields Forever, and Rain. And I can live perfectly fine without A Day in the Life, as it will be available on the full album download.

But no She Loves You? No All My Loving, or Please Please Me, or Help!? These, in my opinion, are monumental sins. Granted, there is one song we don’t yet know, so one of the above could be the track that will act as a surprise on release day. But the fact of the matter is, best case scenario, either She Loves You or Help! got a serious, serious snub.

My second reaction was to be supremely pissed off at the songs that did make the cut, which I feel are undeserving. The most glaring of those is Boys — no, seriously, Boys? — but Do You Want to Know a Secret, Dig a Pony, Birthday, I Wanna Be Your Man and Getting Better also qualify. As do several songs off of both Sgt. Pepper and Abbey Road which I’m thrilled to play, but disappointed about being included on the disc simply because I’m going to have access to them soon enough through DLC, and I want as many songs as possible. I honestly think, as much as I love them, that they were rather consciously overly generous to both George and Ringo. I also think that if they wanted more George and Ringo songs, there were better candidates (I’m Happy Just to Dance With You, I Need You, Old Brown Shoe, Act Naturally . . . hell, even What Goes On is better than Boys). And that by giving them both so many songs on disc, they’ve kind of shot themselves in the foot with regards to DLC and having them fully represented there.

However! It is certainly not all whining, by any stretch of the imagination! Though I’m sad that Abby Road is so grossly overrepresented on the disc despite its DLC availability, I’m not going to lie about being terribly, terribly excited to have access to Come Together, Something and — hello! — I Want You (She’s So Heavy) immediately. I got eight out of ten of my most-wanted tracks, if we’re including all downloadable content that is currently announced, and that’s not too shabby. And that includes Twist and Shout, which everyone tried to convince me that we weren’t going to get (I win!).

Despite the sinful omissions, most of this list is kickass. I cannot wait to get my hands on the bass lines for Paperback Writer, Drive My Car, Come Together, Something, and I Want You. I can’t wait to try out the vocals on just about all of them. I can’t wait to play guitar on Day Tripper, Ticket to Ride, I Feel Fine, Taxman, Something and Revolution. I can’t wait to see just how brilliant a pick Within You Without You/Tomorrow Never Knows really was. I can’t wait to get better at drums (I’m still in total beginner mode) and play along with Ringo. I can’t wait until I can download Abbey Road, and play the greatest album ever made straight from beginning to end. And I think that when it comes time to play While My Guitar Gently Weeps, I just might cry.

I was originally going to make this post a list of top ten songs I’m most looking forward to. My first concern was that it would just be much too similar to my last list, but in the end I scrapped the idea for a different reason — because it was just absolutely impossible. You know, I simply can’t make a list about songs I’m most excited to play when there’s a very real chance I’d have to leave tracks like I Feel Fine and Taxman off of it.

What do you think of the final list? What songs are you most excited to play? Are you going to dive straight into story mode, or head over to quick play first? (It’s story mode for me — I think the slow build up and sweet release of hitting my favorite songs along the way will be absolutely fan-fucking-tastic.) And perhaps the most burning question of all: how are you going to get through these final 24 days of waiting?

0 thoughts on “The Beatles: Rock Band Track List Reactions

  1. frau sally benz

    I’m SO EXCITED right now!

    Okay, I have to agree with you about Boys and Do You Want to Know a Secret (particularly the latter… I mean, I can’t even imagine playing such a slow song). I’m also ehh about Good Morning Good Morning and If I Needed Someone. I really expected Birthday to be there though. People who don’t even know Beatles songs know that song.

    I’m really really surprised that they don’t have both She Loves You and Help! My brain is having a hard time comprehending that.

    There are two groups of songs I can’t wait to play, the ones I love jamming to the most, and the ones my guy and I constantly sing along to. In the former group, I can’t wait for Helter Skelter and Come Together. In the latter group, Here Comes the Sun (his absolute favorite Beatles song) and Don’t Let Me Down.

    By the way, stop hating on Getting Better! lol

    Reply
    1. Cara Post author

      I don’t hate Getting Better! I like it as a song! I just have strong reservations about how much fun it will be to play, and am just generally surprised that they decided to include it. (And of course, I also feel that a) there were better songs to go in its spot and b) it’s an extra waste since they were planning on giving us the full Sgt. Pepper album anyway.)

      I’m a bit eh about If I Needed Someone — I think that Think For Yourself would actually have been a better pick — but I think Good Morning Good Morning will be fun, especially since Paul plays some really badass guitar on it.

      As for Birthday, I’m hoping that it will defy my expectations and actually be really fun to play. Even if, you know it’s a crap song 😛

      Reply
    1. Cara Post author

      Whoa. I’m glad I pre-ordered my copy early. Other sites might still have it? Also, you can sign up to be notified when the item becomes available, so I’m thinking that they might be printing more? I guess that EMI didn’t realize how popular the set would be. I’m not exactly sure I would have either.

      Reply
  2. Messi

    Ummm, can you please explain why you don’t like Birthday? Haha but I did expect it to be there cus it’s basically Rockband made! As for Help! and She loves you, you’re right, they have committed a serious sin in not including those songs! Jeez, I mean come on Help! is like one of their signature songs!! Also one song that I really wanted was Happiness is a warm gun but I wasn’t sure if they would’ve put it…guess not! Haha and I know that I’m gonna go absolutely crazy playing Helter Skelter!

    Reply
  3. meerkat

    I have never cared for “Boys” in particular.

    Is the downloadable content only for the XBox 360? I feel like I’m getting ripped off because odds are vanishingly slim that I will have access to any downloadable content, and for once I actually care.

    Reply
    1. Cara Post author

      Nope, definitely not! It’ll be available through the Playstation Network (which is what I’ll be using), Xbox LIVE marketplace or whatever it’s called, and the in-game store on the Wii. All You Need is Love will be a timed exclusive for the 360, which is super obnoxious, but after a month everyone will have access to it. All modern gaming systems have access to downloadable content, as long as you have it set up 🙂

      Reply
  4. meerkat

    That’s awesome, except, for me, I think there are likely to be region compatibility issues, and they are not so far as I know releasing Beatles Rock Band in Japan 😦 So my plan is to get the XBox version if it turns out to be region free (I hear many XBox games are, although many are not), the PS3 version and a PS3 if that one somehow manages to be region free (I have no reason to think that it would), or an American Wii and the Wii version if none of them are region free (because it is the cheapest). I suppose the American Wii could connect to American download content over the internet… I guess the downloadable content would more than cancel out the lower graphical capabilities, because I doubt I could connect to the XBox Live in English with a Japanese XBox. But I would still rather not own two Wiis if I can avoid it. Given that the list of region compatibility in XBox games I found lists all the other Rock Band games as not compatible at all, I probably will though. This could all be circumvented if they would just release the dang thing in Japan. Maybe I should wait a couple years and see. Maybe in a few years I will have both income and somewhere to put bulky guitar-controllers.

    Anyway, region coding was forged by Lucifer himself to torture the multilingual. It really dampens my excitement about the game.

    Reply
  5. meerkat

    Oh, hey, this website says it will be released here after all. That means I just have to worry about setting up XBox Live and deciding how much money and space I want to devote to the controllers. Disregard sulky rant above.

    Reply
  6. meerkat

    Huh, maybe the link sent my comment to spam. But anyway, some websites are now listing it as coming out in Japan sometime this year, so perhaps my desperate plan outlined above was premature.

    Reply
  7. T6

    I would have wanted to see there some very old Beatles songs like “Cry for a Shadow” (1961). It would have been suited well to the game. It’s been said: “If you haven’t seen The Beatles with Pete Best, you have never seen The Beatles.” Germany-period was important part for the band’s history, when they were only poor street rats and when George Harrison was a great guitarist.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

